Choose the IDE Compatibility Mode . [Workloads Explored], Best Workstation Computer for 3D Modeling and Rendering, PC-Builder: Find The Best Parts For Your PC & Workstation, Your PCIe slots share lanes with your M.2 slots. 2. However, weve listed other methods on how to fully format and quick format it as well. What happens if you boot a PC without RAM? Changes can be made to the BIOS to manage your disk drive in a more sensitive fashion. 1. Go to your BIOS (usually by pressing F2 or Delete when your PC is booting). So, if your intention is to sell or give away your SSD, you will have to enter the BIOS and secure erase everything on the disk. What Does RTX & GTX Stand for in Nvidia GPUs? I am a tech writer, hardware enthusiast, and programmer. He also enjoys watching movies and traveling. Make sure you save your changes and restart before checking if your M.2 drive is now listed under boot priority. Check your BIOS to see if youve enabled M.2 slot to be bootable. This will ensure that when you screw down the drive it will be parallel to the motherboard rather than angled down towards it. In addition, you can switch to another SSD port and see if it can be detected by BIOS. Boot into BIOS, hold the power button until it shuts down, then press F4, 4, R, F, V, F5, 5, T, G, B, F6, 6, Y, H, N, then turn on and boot into BIOS again. Press 'F5' to set the BIOS to default setting, then press 'F10' to save BIOS setting and click [OK] to reboot. But this is where drives come to die so natural deaths are more likely here. PCI_E2 & PCI_3 are connected to chipset and support PCI 3.0 x1. Here, we take the ASUS Fast Boot for example. We have a guide on hand if you want to move Windows 10 over to your new M.2 drive. Each time the behavior was the same. It is simply the letter assigned to a hard drive so that you can differentiate between the various installed hard drives on your computer. JavaScript is disabled. For MSI BIOS, you have to change the boot hard disk priority (not the